Home Chhattisgarh Congress MLAs in Chhattisgarh authorise Rahul Gandhi to decide CM

Congress MLAs in Chhattisgarh authorise Rahul Gandhi to decide CM

representational image

Newly elected Congress legislators in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan have left the decision of leadership to the Congress President Rahul Gandhi. In Chhattisgarh, Congress legislators have unanimously passed a one-line resolution requesting Congress President Rahul Gandhi to decide the leader of the Congress Legislative Party, who will be the Chief Minister of the state.

During the meeting, last night, former Union Minister and legislator Charandas Mahant moved the resolution, which was seconded by the Congress Working Committee member and MLA Tamradwaj Sahu. Congress veteran Mallikarjun Kharge, who is the leader of Congress in the Lok Sabha, was present as an observer at the meeting.

After the deliberations, Mr Kharge told reporters that the opinion of legislators and the resolution would be communicated to the party high command. He said the Congress chief would take a final call about the new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh.

In Madhya Pradesh, the Congress legislators held a meeting in Bhopal in the presence of senior party leader AK Antony, who was party observer. Congress has 114 MLAs in the 230-member house in Madhya Pradesh. BJP has secured 109 seats.

Samajwadi Party and BSP have offered their support to Congress in government formation in the support. The BSP has two MLAs while SP has a lone member in the house.

In Rajasthan, Congress Central observer K.C Venugopal and state in-charge Avinash Pandey held the discussion with new party legislators individually and sought their opinion in a day-long meeting in Jaipur yesterday. Both the leaders will meet the Congress President today to discuss and decide the Chief Minister.

A Congress delegation yesterday called upon Governor Kalyan Singh at Raj Bhawan to stake claim to form the government in the state. Newly elected Congress legislators have left the decision to elect the party legislature leader to the Congress President Rahul Gandhi.


Previous articleRetail inflation hits 17-month low at 2.33% in November
Next articleNation pays homage to Parliament attack martyrs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here