Home National BS Yeddyurappa resigns as Karnataka CM

BS Yeddyurappa resigns as Karnataka CM

BS Yeddyurappa
file photo

Senior BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa has resigned as Karnataka Chief Minister ahead of confidence motion in the State Assembly.

Making a statement in the Assembly this afternoon, Mr. Yeddyurappa said, he will go to Raj Bhavan and submit his resignation to the Governor Vajubhai Vala. Mr. Yeddyurappa said, he will not face the confidence vote.

Supreme Court had yesterday ordered a floor test in Karnataka assembly at 4 PM today, drastically slashing the 15-day window given by Governor to Mr. Yeddyurappa to prove his majority.

His resignation is likely to pave the way for the formation of a new Government by JD(S) with the support of Congress party. The JD(S) Congress alliance has claimed support of 117 MLAs in the 224 member House with an effective strength of 221.

Polling for two seats was not held due to various reasons, while JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy has won two seats.


Previous articleAsian Champions: Indian Women’s Hockey team plays out 1-1 draw with South Korea in their final round-robin match
Next articleItalian Open: Rafael Nadal beat long-term rival Novak Djokovic


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here