Home National 8 civilians killed during clashes in Kashmir

8 civilians killed during clashes in Kashmir


Kashmir, Apr 9

Eight civilians were killed during clashes with security forces in various areas of central Kashmir’s Budgam district on poll day for bye elections to Srinagar Parliamentary constituency today. The Srinagar Parliamentary constituency witnessed lowest voter turnout. Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti has expressed deep anguish over the loss of lives during today’s polling. She said peaceful means and not violence are the only way ahead for getting the State out of the present difficulties.
Reports said sporadic violent clashes occurred at around four dozen places in various areas in Srinagar and Budgam districts. Official sources said more than 100 police and para military personnel were wounded during day long clashes with the protesters.
Srinagar Parliamentary constituency comprises of 15 assembly segments in three central Kashmir districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal.
Nine candidates are in fray while former Chief Minister and National Conference- Congress joint candidate Dr Farooq Abdullah and ruling PDP’s Nazir Khan are the main contestants. Majority of the over 1500 polling stations in the constituency particularly in Srinagar and Budgam had been categorized as sensitive and hyper sensitive by the Election Commission.

Polling for by-elections to Srinagar Lok Sabha seat and 10 Assembly constituencies in nine states ended at 5.00 pm today. In the Centre state of Madhya Pradesh, by-poll was held in Bandhavgarh Assembly seat in Umaria district and Ater segment of Bhind. In Delhi, voting was held for Rajouri Garden Assembly seat. The seat fell vacant following resignation of Aam Aadmi Party MLA Jarnail Singh. In the northern state of Rajasthan, polling was held peacefully for the Dholpur Assembly seat. In Himachal Pradesh polling for Bhoranj Assembly constituency in Hamirpur district was also held. Polling in northern state of Assam’s Dhemaji Assembly seat and eastern sate of West Bengal’s Kanthi Dakshin Assembly seat along with Nanjangud and Gundlupet in southern state of Karnataka, and Litiparah in Jharkhand were also held today. Counting for all the seats will take place on Thursday

Previous articleSex ratio in Haryana touches 950 mark for first time: Khattar
Next articleAustralian PM Malcolm Turnbull arrives in New Delhi on a 4-day visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here