Home Chhattisgarh Raman cabinet declares 96 tehsil in 21 districts drought-hit

Raman cabinet declares 96 tehsil in 21 districts drought-hit



Raipur, September 12

In interest of farmers, Chhattisgarh government has declared as many as 96 tehsils in 21 districts as drought-hit. A decision in this regard was taken in a cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Raman Singh today at Mantralaya (Mahanadi Bhawan).

96 Tehsils in 21 districts declared drought-affected

The Cabinet proposed to declare 96 tehsils in 21 districts as drought-affected during the Kharif season 2017. The tehsils are located in districts : Raipur, Balodabazar, Gariyabandh, Mahasamund, Dhamtari, Durg, Bemetara, Balod, Rajnandgaon, Kabirdham, Kondagaon, Dantewada, Kanker, Bilaspur, Mungeli, Janjgir-Chapa, Korba, Raigarh, Korea, Narayanpur and Bijapur.

As per information received, to deal with the impact of drought, Raman Singh-led BJP government in Chhattisgarh has decision to launch employment-oriented schemes in drought-prone regions, canals desiltation-channel embankment works will be carried out at the villages, irrigation borewells will be provided with non-stop supply of electricity, a proposal to provided 200 days of employment under the MGNREGA had been sent to the Union Government, grant/ subsidy amount will be paid as per the Revenue records, insurance amounts will be paid to the farmers as per the Prime Minister Crops’ Insurance Policy and rice will be set apart for every person as a part of Food Security at all the Gram Panchayats.

In a major relief, the government has decided to waived land-cess in all the drought-affected Tehsils across the state.

Likewise, a proposal to redress the drinking water crisis in the affected tehsils will be sent to the Central Government, a proposal will be sent for subsidized seeds / diesel to the Union Government. and there will be total ban drawing water from bore-wells for irrigation purposes for summer crops (paddy)

*Drought-affected tehsils are : in Raipur district four tehsils, Balodabazaar district six tehsils, Gariyabandh district three tehsils, Mahasamund district five, Dhamtari district four tehsils, Dur district three, Balod district four, Bemetara district five, Rajnandgaon district nine, Kabirdham district four, Kondagaon district four tehsils, Narayanpur district two, Kanker district seven, Danteawad district five, Bijapur district four, Bilaspur district eight, Mungeli three tehsils, Raigarh district six, Janjgir Chapa four, Korba district one and Korea district five tehsils.

Bonus will be given to farmers

*An amount of Rs 300 Incentive Bonus per quintal will be allocated to farmers for the Kharif year 2016-2017. The Cabinet meeting passed the proposal to provide Bonus on the paddy purchased by the co-operative samities.

*The land-owning farmers whose paddy was purchased on MSP in the year 2016-2107 will be eligible for it.

*The Incentive amount will be disbursed through the MARKFED.

* Bonus will be distributed to all the farmers before Diwali.

Paddy-Makka marketing, custom milling policy passed

* The Food Department of the Union Government had already fixed the Minimum Support Price (MSP) for high-quality paddy -makka for the Kharif Marketing year 2017-2108. MSP for paddy (Common) Rs 1550, Paddy A-grade Rs 1590 and Makka Rs 1425 a quintal.

* Chhattisgarh Co-Operative Societies’ procurement centres will purchase paddy on cash and linking from 15 November 2017-31 January 2018.

*Makka will be purchased from 15 November 2017-31 May 2018.

The second supplementary Budget estimates for 2017-2108

*The second supplementary Budget estimates for 2017-2108 was passed by the Cabinet

* Chhattisgarh Krushi Upaj Mandi (Amendment Bill 2017) was passed by the Cabinet.

Previous articleChhattisgarh Govt declars 96 tehsil in 21 districts drought -hit
Next articleAppropriations committees in US propose tougher conditions for Washington for military and economic aid to Pakistan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here