Home Other State 2008 Assam serial blasts case: NDFB Chief Ranjan Daimary, 9 others sentenced...

2008 Assam serial blasts case: NDFB Chief Ranjan Daimary, 9 others sentenced for life

serial blasts
representational image

Assam, Jan 30

The special CBI court in Guwahati has sentenced National Democratic Front of Boroland NDFB Chief Ranjan Daimary and 9 accused to life imprisonment in the 2008 serial blasts case.

As per information received, three other accused were sentenced to 5 years of imprisonment. The court imposed fine on another accused.

Those who were given life imprisonment include – George Bodo, Ajay Basumatary, Lokra Basumatary, Raju Sarkar among others. Those who were given 5 years of jail with fine are Jayanti, Prabhat Bodo and Mathuram Brahma.

These 3 have already completed their jail tenure and are to be acquitted with a fine.

In October 2008, 88 people were killed and over 500 were injured in multiple blasts in Assam.

The accused rigged two cars and motorbikes with explosives and parked them strategically at nine locations including Guwahati, Barpeta Road. We spoke to SP, CBI, N S Kharayat outside court

Previous articleCountry’s gold policy to be launched soon: Suresh Prabhu
Next articleCEC Sunil Arora along with his team holds discussion with different political parties


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here