Home National UP, Bihar by-poll results: RJD wins Araria, SP bags Phulpur LS seats

UP, Bihar by-poll results: RJD wins Araria, SP bags Phulpur LS seats

Assembly elections
representational image

In Bihar, RJD has won Araria Lok Sabha by-poll as the party candidate Sarfaraz Alam defeated his nearest rival Pradeep Kumar Singh of BJP by a margin of over 57 thousand votes.

In assembly bypolls, BJP has won Bhabhua assembly seat while RJD has bagged the Jahanabad assembly constituency. BJP candidate Rinki Rani Pandey defeated her nearest rival by a margin of over 15 thousand votes in Bhabhua.

RJD Candidate Kumar Krishna Mohan beat his nearest rival of JD(U) Aviram Sharma by a margin of over 35 thousand votes in Jahanabad seat.

The by-polls in Bihar were necessitated due to deaths of RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin, RJD MLA Mudrika Singh Yadav and BJP MLA Anand Bhusan Pandey.

In Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party candidate Nagendra Singh Patel defeated his BJP rival Kaushalendra Singh Patel by a margin of over 59 thousand votes in Phulpur Lok Sabha by-poll.

In Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat, Samajwadi Party candidate Praveen Nishad was leading against his BJP rival Upendra Shukla by a margin of over 25 thousand votes at the end of 22nd round of counting.

Bypolls in Gorakhpur were necessitated following the resignation of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, while Phulpur seat was vacated by Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Polling on all the 5 seats was held last Sunday.

Previous articleNoted film and television actor Narendra Jha passes away
Next articleInsurgents attack checkpoint in Afghanistan, 10 security personnel killed


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here