Home National TDP decides to pull out of NDA govt at Centre on issue...

TDP decides to pull out of NDA govt at Centre on issue of special status to AP

NDA government

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has decided to pull out of the NDA government at the Centre and asked two of its ministers in the Modi Government to tender their resignation. The two ministers are Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Minister of State for Science and Technology YS Chowdary.

Addressing a press conference last night, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP Chief N. Chandrababu Naidu said that the party took the painful decision in the interest of the state. The TDP has, however, pulled out from the government and not from the NDA.

The party’s support to the NDA will continue as it is yet to decide on leaving the alliance. Mr Naidu said the resignation of TDP ministers is the first step and the party will decide its next step soon.

Mr Naidu’s announcement came barely hours after Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley told a press conference in New Delhi yesterday evening that funds equivalent to what a special category state receives will be given to Andhra Pradesh.

Mr Jaitley said, giving special category status to any state other than in the north-east and three hill states are not constitutionally possible after the implementation of the 14th Finance Commission Recommendations.

In a tit-for-tat action, the two BJP ministers in the Naidu government K Srinivasa Rao and T Manikyala Rao also announced their decision to quit. The BJP floor leader in Andhra Pradesh Assembly Vishnu Kumar Raju said that the two BJP ministers will resign today.

Previous articleSouth Korea envoys to leave for US, meet with top aide
Next articlePM Modi to inaugurate pan-India expansion of ‘Beti Bachao Beti Padhao’ programme


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here