Home National Six States sign agreement for Renukaji Multipurpose Dam Project

Six States sign agreement for Renukaji Multipurpose Dam Project


An agreement for Renukaji Dam Multipurpose Project will be signed today among the states of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand. The project is aimed at meeting the drinking water needs of these states.

The agreement will be signed in the presence of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Minister Nitin Gadkari in New Delhi. All the six Chief Ministers will also be present on the occasion.

Under it, three storage projects are proposed to be constructed on the river Yamuna and two of its tributaries – Tons and Giri in the hilly regions of Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh.

These include Lakhwar project on river Yamuna in Uttarakhand, Kishau on river Tons in Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh and Renukaji on river Giri in Himachal Pradesh.

The projects were conceived in 2008. Most of the irrigation cost and the drinking water component of these projects will be funded by the central government. In addition to this a concession agreement will also be signed for Namami Gange projects for the city of Prayagraj under Hybrid Annuity Mode and One City One Operator Concept.


Previous articleGST Council decisions will help MSMEs, traders and service sector: PM
Next articleTrump pushes wall plan in US-Mexico border visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here