Home National Digital India Awards conferred for Excellence in Web Space

Digital India Awards conferred for Excellence in Web Space

Digital India Awards conferred for Excellence in Web Space

New Delhi, Feb 23

Digital India Awards have been instituted under the ambit of the National Portal of India (http://india.gov.in) by National Informatics Centre, MeitY, to promote exemplary initiatives in e-governance using the medium of World Wide Web.

Minister of Electronics&IT, Law & Justice Ravi Shankar Prasad conferred “Digital India Awards 2018” in an exclusive ceremony.

Besides conferring the Digital India Awards, the series of releases for enriching the Digital India vision also took place:

Digital India Coffee Table Book – “Towards a New India, Transforming Digital Dream to Reality”

Digital India Awards Compendium – A compilation of the exemplary digital initiatives that have been awarded in each of the eight categories for the platinum, gold and silver awards. The compendium also carries a mention of Jury Choice and Special Mention awards.

STQC Accessibility Certification Scheme- A scheme to assess and certify websites that migrate to S3WaaS (Secure, Scalable & Sugamya websites) for web content accessibility.

Unified Messaging Platform- A platform released by MeitY for secure and efficient Government communications and NIC is the implementing agency for this large deployment. Email and messaging are the backbone of e-governance.

Public DNS (Domain Name System) Service- A service being implemented by MeitY and configuration setup to be done by NIC for offering to all citizens

Cyber Crisis Management Plan 2019 (CCMP) and Guidance Framework for the CCMP- A framework document for countering Cyber Attacks and Cyber Terrorism and dealing with cyber-related incidents.

With the ever increasing reach of internet, innovative uses of various emerging digital technologies& availability of a plethora of affordable ways to access the World Wide Web, the government webspace can now be accessed by citizens of India, of all ages & abilitiesacross the nation, Rural and Urban alike.

This naturally raises the expectation from Government websites and portals for solutions to existential challenges, including enhanced accessibility and citizen centricity to facilitate INCLUSIVE ACCESS to government information & services.

A number of initiatives have been taken to meet citizen expectations at various levels in the government including formulating policies and executing plans to use technology for benefiting citizens.Digital India Awards would further strengthen these initiatives.

35 awards were conferred to teams and individuals in the following categories:

  1. Web Ratna – Ministry/Department
  2. Exemplary Online Service
  3. Best Mobile App
  4. Emerging Technology
  5. Open Data Champion
  6. Web Ratna – State/UT
  7. Web Ratna – District
  8. Outstanding Digital initiative by Local body
  9. Jury Choice Awards
  10. Special Mention Awards
Previous articleHAL signs MoU with CPWD for infrastructure development
Next articleNTAC receives suggestion to promote tourism


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here