Home National Delhi Police files charge sheet against Kanhaiya Kumar, others in 2016 sedition...

Delhi Police files charge sheet against Kanhaiya Kumar, others in 2016 sedition case

Kanhaiya Kumar

Former JNU Students’ President Kanhaiya Kumar and nine others, including Umar Khalid and Anirbhan Bhattacharya, have been charge-sheeted by the Delhi Police for allegedly raising anti-India slogans during an event at the varsity in 2016. Delhi Police Special Cell filed the charge sheet in Patiala House Court today for initiating trial against them. The charges against the accused are related to various offences, including sedition.

The other accused charge-sheeted in the case are Aquib Hussain, Mujeeb Hussain Gattoo, Muneeb Hussain Gattoo, Umair Gul, Rayees Rasool, Khalid Bashir Bhat and Basharat Ali.

According to the police, the accused persons allegedly shouted anti-India slogans during an event on the university’s campus on 9th February , 2016, to commemorate the hanging of Parliament-attack mastermind Afzal Guru.

A Delhi Police release said, names of other 36 individuals have been put in the list of persons against whom sufficient evidence is not available to launch trial. The list includes names of former JNU vice-president Shehla Rashid and ex-student Rama Naga.


Previous articleMishap claims three policemen, civilian in Balaghat district
Next articlePM Narendra Modi receives first-ever Philip Kotler award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here