Home National Cabinet decides to strengthen NE autonomous councils

Cabinet decides to strengthen NE autonomous councils

Banning of Unregulated Deposit Schemes Bill
representational image

Cabinet has approved the landmark amendment to Article 280 of the Constitution to increase powers of Autonomous Councils in Sixth Schedule areas of North East.

The proposed amendment will give more powers to Autonomous District Councils of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura.

State Finance Commissions will be set up in Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura, Karbi Anglong Autonomous Territorial Council and Dima Hasao Autonomous Territorial Council.

Finance Commission will recommend devolution of financial resources to ten Autonomous District Councils, and village and municipal councils in Sixth Schedule areas.

More funds will be given to local government institutions for development works in these tribal areas. The proposed amendments will have elected village and municipal councils ensuring grass root democracy.

The State Election Commissions will hold elections to Autonomous Councils, village and municipal councils in the scheduled areas of Assam, Mizoram and Tripura. One-third of seats will be reserved for women in the village and municipal councils. At least two nominated members in all autonomous councils will be women.


Previous articleElection Commission to host International Conference on Making Elections Inclusive and Accessible
Next article43 IS terrorists killed in cross-border shelling by Iraqi forces


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here