Home National Deadlock continues in Parliament

Deadlock continues in Parliament

file photo

Proceedings in both the Houses of Parliament were disrupted for the 21st consecutive day today amidst continuing protests by the Opposition members.

The Rajya Sabha witnessed two adjournments before being finally adjourned for the day. When the Rajya Sabha reassembled at 2 PM, Deputy Chairman P J Kurien appealed to the agitating members to allow the House to take up the division on the Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2013.

Yesterday, the bill was moved by Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office Dr. Jitendra Singh. Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Vijay Goel also made repeated appeals to the Opposition members to pass the bill. But the agitating members belonging to AIADMK, TDP, YSR-Congress and Congress did not pay heed to his appeal and continued shouting slogans.

TDP and YSR Congress were shouting slogans in support of their demand for granting special status to Andhra Pradesh. Mr Kurien asked them to allow voting first and said they can vote against the bill if they want. At one point in time, Mr Kurien said, he would be compelled to invoke Rule 256 to suspend the agitating members through a motion. Amidst noisy scenes, the Chair had to adjourn the House till tomorrow.

Earlier, when the House met for the day, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath of office and allegiance to the two newly elected members.

On the other hand, when the Lok Sabha reassembled after the first adjournment, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said the party is ready to discuss all the issues. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar held Congress responsible for continued disruptions in both the Houses.

Mr Kumar said BJP and NDA allies will not take salary and allowances for 23 days of this second part of the budget session.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said she is unable to take up the No- confidence motion moved by Opposition parties like Congress, YSR- Congress and TDP as the House is not in order. AIADMK members were in the Well shouting slogans in support of their demand for immediate constitution of a Management Board for Cauvery River Water distribution.

In the din, the Speaker adjourned the House for the day.

Previous articleTobacco products, cigarette packs to show helpline number from Sept
Next articleSally Pearson withdraws from Commonwealth Games


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here