Home National Presidential Election 2017: Voting tomorrow, counting on 20 July

Presidential Election 2017: Voting tomorrow, counting on 20 July

presidential election

Election for the post of President of India will be held tomorrow. Ram Nath Kovind, the former Governor of Bihar, is Presidential candidate of Bharatiya Janata Party led NDA’s candidate for the post of President of India. Kovind is a leader and a politician from the BJP. Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha, is the opposition candidate supported by Congress-lead opposition is candidate for the post of President.
The Counting will be held on 20 July 2017. The term of the President Pranab Mukherjee expires on 24th of July, 2017.
The electoral college of the President comprises both MPs and MLAs, and each vote weighs in accordance with proportional representation. While all MP votes bear equal value, the weightage of MLA votes differs from State to State. MLAs from Uttar Pradesh carry the highest value while those from Sikkim have the least.

It may be recalled that the Election Commission had announced that the ballot papers for polls will be marked by a particular pen that will be supplied by the ECI itself.

It said that the political parties cannot issue any whip to their MPs or MLAs registered for casting vote in the Presidential Election.

Previous articleGovt. convenes all party meeting ahead of Monsoon Session
Next articleStart a new inning after GST implementation: Javadekar appeals to traders


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here