Home International Awami League registers landslide victory in parliamentary elections

Awami League registers landslide victory in parliamentary elections

Sheikh Hasina
courtesy: twitter handle of Awami League (file photo)

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s Awami League has registered a thumping victory in Parliamentary elections.

According to media reports, the ruling Awami League-led coalition won over 260 seats in the 300-member House. The ruling Awami League-led grand alliance bagged 266 seats and its ally Jatiya Party secured 21. The opposition National Unity Front (UNF) with BNP being its key partner got only seven seats. Independent candidates won in two seats. The election was postponed in one seat due to the death of a candidate.

Election Commission has declared result of Gopalganj constituency from where Sheikh Hasina bagged more than 2.29 lakh votes, while her BNP opponent got only 123 votes.

Opposition NUF alliance has rejected the outcome of the general election and demanded fresh polls under a neutral caretaker government.

Bangladesh Election Commission is expected to officially declare the results in Dhaka today.

It may be recalled that as many as 17 people, including a member of a security agency, have been killed and several others were injured in poll-related violence yesterday.


Previous articleIndia successfully accomplished Nuclear Triad this year: PM
Next articleNIA carries out searches in Delhi in connection with IS Module


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here