Home Entertainment Government reconstitutes existing CBFC for three years

Government reconstitutes existing CBFC for three years


The Centre has appointed lyricist Prasoon Joshi as Chairman of the Central Board of Film Certification, CBFC, for a period of three years. Mr Joshi has replaced former Chairman Pahlaj Nihalani.

Government has also reconstituted the existing CBFC with immediate effect for a period of three years or until further orders.

Information and Broadcasting Ministry in a release, yesterday, said, there are 12 members in the new board, which include Ms. Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra Lal, Vivek Agnihotri and Ms Vidya Balan.

CBFC is a statutory body under Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, regulating the public exhibition of films under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act.

The Board consists of non-official members and a Chairman, all of whom are appointed by Central Government. It functions with headquarters at Mumbai. Any Film can be publicly exhibited in the country only after they have been certified by it.

Previous articleRailways to launch various new train services today
Next articleJharkhand Assembly passes Religious Freedom Bill


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here