NITI Aayog

NITI Aayog to provide rankings to 115 aspirational districts

Jan 12 • National, Top Stories • 79 Views • No Comments on NITI Aayog to provide rankings to 115 aspirational districts

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

NITI Aayog will provide rankings to the 115 aspirational districts. In its presentation at the ‘Transformation of Aspirational Districts’ conference which was held earlier this month, the Aayog said the ranking will be on 10 parameters which will include nutrition, education and health among others.

It will also set up a mechanism for real-time monitoring of government’s development programmes by April 2018. The government think-tank said it will create a dashboard which will reflect the change in ranking of districts on continuous basis by the end of March this year.

In its website NITI Aayog said that government targets to sanction over 12 lakh houses in 115 backward districts identified for development in 18 months under a housing scheme.

Currently, 6.32 lakh houses have been sanctioned under the Pradhan Manti Awas Yojana (Urban) for these districts.

Last week, while participating at a conference, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had asked collectors and officers-in-charge of the 115 aspirational districts to come up with pioneering innovations to achieve visible results for development by April 14, the birth anniversary of B R Ambedkar.

Prime Minister had said he would like to personally visit one such well-performing district in April, adding those 115 districts could become the foundation for developing New India.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »